skip to Main Content



Jack Crowe’s coaching career has spanned over 39 years and 13 conference championships. A native of Birmingham, AL, Crowe has coached at some of the top football programs in the country, and spent 27 years coaching in the state of Alabama. The recipient of numerous prestigious awards, honors, and recognitions for his outstanding leadership and community contributions, he retired from coaching in 2012 and returned to his educational roots. He had graduated from UAB in pre-med and during a three-year coaching sabbatical (1996-99) he served as the Executive Director of the American Sports Medicine Institute.

In 2013 he formed the CoachSafely LLC as a consulting organization for developing youth sports safety policy, education, research and community outreach. He became a Co-Chair of the National Council of Youth Sports Safety in 2014 and toured the nation advocating for youth sports safety. In 2015 he initiated a pilot program in Trussville, AL that mandated every volunteer coach of child athletes take a course in sports injury recognition and prevention (a course he had developed along with the Andrews Research and Education Foundation).

In 2016 he led an advocacy for a House Bill in the Alabama State Legislature to mandate the course statewide. The Bill became state law in April 2018. Called the Coach Safely Act, the landmark law is implemented, administered and enforced by the Alabama Department of Public Health.


Founder & Chairman




James Andrews, MD

Doctor James R. Andrews is one of the founding members of Andrews Sports Medicine and Orthopaedic Center in Birmingham, Alabama. He is also cofounder of the American Sports Medicine Institute (ASMI), a non-profit institute dedicated to injury prevention, education and research in orthopaedic and sports medicine. He is President and Chairman of the Board of the Andrews Research and Education Foundation, also dedicated to prevention, education and research at the Andrews Institute. He has mentored more than 314 orthopaedic/sports medicine Fellows and more than 84 primary care sports medicine Fellows who have trained under him through these Sports Medicine Fellowship Programs.

James Andrews, MD

Medical Director

Bill Clark

Bill Clark is the head football coach of the UAB Blazers. His head coaching record at UAB is 24-14 and he is 35-18 as a Division I head coach. A year after guiding UAB to a school record eight wins in 2017, Clark and the Blazers surpassed that with the program’s first-ever 10 win season in 2018. On December 1, 2018, the Blazers won their first Conference USA title by traveling to Murfreesboro, TN, and defeating Middle Tennessee 27-25 in dramatic fashion on the Blue Raiders’ home field to claim the league championship.

Bill Clark

Vice President

James C. Lee III

Mr. James C. Lee, III also known as Jimmy, serves as the Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Buffalo Rock Company. He currently serves on the boards of the American Beverage Association and the Children’s Hospital of Alabama, and is President of the Vestavia Park Foundation. He is past president of Children’s Hospital Foundation Board and of the Auburn University Athletic Development Council.

James C. Lee III

Vice Chairman


Dr. David Satcher

16th U.S. Surgeon General

Terry Slaughter

Founder of Devote Studios, Brand and Promotion Expert

Dr. Jimmy Robinson

University of Alabama Team Doctor

Dr. Reed Estes

Children’s of Alabama, Sports Medicine Orthopedic Surgeon, UAB Team Doctor

Dr. Mike Goodlet

Auburn University Team Doctor

Dr. Ken Elmer

Alabama Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics

Dr. Beverly Jordan

Enterprise, Alabama

Dr. Lynn Artz

formerly Senior Prevention Policy Advisor, ODPHP, U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services

Paul Henderson

President of Encore Rehabilitation, Inc.

Ryan Allan

Chief of Cyber Security/ Office of Information Technology State of Alabama

Wayne Moss

Executive Director of the National Council of Youth Sports

Izell Reese

President and GM, Reigning Champs Experiences

Margaret White

Public Relations Alabama Power

Steve Savarese

Executive Director of the Alabama High School Athletics Association

Natalie Norman

Executive Director of the Alabama Recreation and Park Association

Dana Marquez

Associate Athletic Director Auburn University